If you are someone who wants to start a construction or construction business in Michigan, you are supposed to get Michigan builder License.
It is a tedious process to get your hands on the Michigan building license.
A few important steps need to be followed to get a license. It starts from completing your Michigan builder License classes, clearing your exams to choose the license type you should apply for.
Here we provide you a simple and clear guide on everything you need to get your license.
Michigan Builder License:
This license is for a person who wants to do any form of construction work in Michigan. In detail, According to Article 24 of Public Act 299 of 1980, any person who engaged in the building of residential to the construction of business structure should hold this Michigan Builder License.
Even for people who undertake the repair of these structures, alteration of building and improvement also need this license.
Requirements to get the builder license:
- To get the license, the builder should meet the following :
- Your Age must be 18 or above.
- You should have a valid driving license.
- You have to complete 60 hours pre-licensure course.
- You should pass the residential and alternation contractor exam.
- You should pay all application and licensing fees.
Above all, passing the exam is a must; having proper Michigan builder license classes will help with this.
It will take 60 hours to complete and has a variety of subjects. Each subject at least takes 6 hours to complete. The subjects are:
1) The First 6 hours will be about Business Management, Estimating, and Job costing.
2) Design and business science will take next 6 hours
3) The next 6 hours will be for Risk Management, Contracts, and Liability.
4) The Michigan Residential code
5) Standards of MIOSHA Construction Safety covers 6 hours
6) The balance of 18 hours will be used for other topics on the approved course list.
There are many Michigan builders License classes are available for your Pre-licensure courses online.
Clearing Contractor’s Licensing exam:
After finishing the pre-licensure course, you are supposed to clear the contractor exam. In Michigan, your contractor exam will happen through PSI exams. While applying for this exam, applicants should provide a copy of their driving license or any other personal identification card. Along with the application or at the time of the exam, you have to pay $195. The fee may vary depending upon sections in your Michigan builder license. For each license, the number of the section you need to take will change.
Getting your License:
After clearing your exams, you will be issued with your builder license as an Individual Residential Builder. With this license, you can start your construction as a sole proprietor under your name. However, you can’t use this license for corporations or partnerships.
Registration with the Michigan Department of Treasury:
After getting your license and starting your business, it’s vital to register your business and also get insured. You can register your business With the Michigan Department of Treasury Online. Getting insured is more responsible and important too.
Having Michigan Builder License is a must to work with any contractor. You cannot work on any project which totals $600 or more without your license.
If a contractor found working without a license will have to appear in court and face misdemeanor charges which may result in a sentence of six months of jail or a fine.
Work peacefully with a proper license based on law and order. Getting a license will be easy if you choose the proper Michigan builder license class.